Request: skip UAC prompt option

Drivers Update Monitor
Post Reply
UpdateMania
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 5:59 pm

Request: skip UAC prompt option

Post by UpdateMania »

If DUMo is opened fairly frequently, the UAC prompt can get annoying. Some programs have an option to skip the prompt, making use of the Task Scheduler to achieve this. Hope you can consider it.

Kyle_Katarn
Site Admin
Posts: 1428
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:13 pm

Re: Request: skip UAC prompt option

Post by Kyle_Katarn »

Sorry but UAC is mandatory for DUMo to work. Any option to launch as Admin ?

Regarding scheduling, we'll soon propose a built-in feature (similar to "SUMo Online" if you're a SUMo 5.9.x user).

UpdateMania
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 5:59 pm

Re: Request: skip UAC prompt option

Post by UpdateMania »

The program can be executed with the highest privileges, bypassing the annoying prompt. Take a look at CCleaner or UltraSearch, for example. They both include an option to skip the initial UAC prompt/warning. Enabling this option adds an entry to the Task Scheduler, which makes this possible. It has nothing to do with scheduling.

More examples here.

Kyle_Katarn
Site Admin
Posts: 1428
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:13 pm

Re: Request: skip UAC prompt option

Post by Kyle_Katarn »

Where is such setting in CCleaner ?
Have you checked this : https://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/1 ... reate.html ?

UpdateMania
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 5:59 pm

Re: Request: skip UAC prompt option

Post by UpdateMania »

Setting is here (I use CC portable).

Yes, I know about the shortcuts and use them (I linked that!), especially for portable programs. For installed programs, the problem is that with every update the shortcut is reset/replaced so you'd need a second shortcut with a different name. Unless of course the application itself takes care of it (like CC).

Kyle_Katarn
Site Admin
Posts: 1428
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:13 pm

Re: Request: skip UAC prompt option

Post by Kyle_Katarn »

OK, i've opened a feature request here : https://www.kcsoftwares.com/bugs/view.php?id=5565

UpdateMania
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 5:59 pm

Re: Request: skip UAC prompt option

Post by UpdateMania »

Thank you.

Kyle_Katarn
Site Admin
Posts: 1428
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:13 pm

Re: Request: skip UAC prompt option

Post by Kyle_Katarn »

You're welcome, good idea !

Post Reply