Avira mish-mash of errors

vailr
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 6:22 pm

Avira mish-mash of errors

Post by vailr »

Note: was looking for a way to add to a previous Avira related report, but the "MantisBT" web site is a little too non-intuitive.
Anyway: Avira had an update today (1 FEB 2018) to "Product version 15.0.34.20".
Looking at how SUMo determines the version number, it still is looking at the wrong file for the version number: startui.exe.
Except that: when you inspect startui.exe, that file's version is actually: 15.0.34.12, which doesn't make any kind of logical sense at all.
The SUMo screen output that lists all the PC's installed software shows Avira overall version as: 15.0.34.17, which fails to even agree with the startui.exe version number.
My recommendation: instead of startui.exe, SUMo needs to instead refer to the file avshadow.exe, which version number at least matches 15.0.34.20, the version Avira self-identifies as being the current "Product version". If SUMo continues to refer to startui.exe, then the version number will continue to be faulty. Please install Avira yourself, on a test Windows PC, instead of asking for screen shots to be supplied to you.
It's not exactly "rocket science".
Thanks.

P.S. Installation of Avira AV is a 2-step process.
1. Download the small 5 Mb Free Avira AV installer stub directly from Avira.com
2. Run the 5 Mb installer stub, then manually initiate the AV software installation, which will need to download about 240 Mb from the Avira server; this can take several minutes to download and then the actual installation will take place automatically.

Afterwards, run SUMo to let it detect the Avira version number.

Kyle_Katarn
Site Admin
Posts: 1419
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:13 pm

Re: Avira mish-mash of errors

Post by Kyle_Katarn »

vailr wrote:
Fri Feb 02, 2018 12:06 am
Note: was looking for a way to add to a previous Avira related report, but the "MantisBT" web site is a little too non-intuitive.
Anyway: Avira had an update today (1 FEB 2018) to "Product version 15.0.34.20".
Looking at how SUMo determines the version number, it still is looking at the wrong file for the version number: startui.exe.
Except that: when you inspect startui.exe, that file's version is actually: 15.0.34.12, which doesn't make any kind of logical sense at all.
The SUMo screen output that lists all the PC's installed software shows Avira overall version as: 15.0.34.17, which fails to even agree with the startui.exe version number.
My recommendation: instead of startui.exe, SUMo needs to instead refer to the file avshadow.exe, which version number at least matches 15.0.34.20, the version Avira self-identifies as being the current "Product version". If SUMo continues to refer to startui.exe, then the version number will continue to be faulty. Please install Avira yourself, on a test Windows PC, instead of asking for screen shots to be supplied to you.
It's not exactly "rocket science".
Thanks.

P.S. Installation of Avira AV is a 2-step process.
1. Download the small 5 Mb Free Avira AV installer stub directly from Avira.com
2. Run the 5 Mb installer stub, then manually initiate the AV software installation, which will need to download about 240 Mb from the Avira server; this can take several minutes to download and then the actual installation will take place automatically.

Afterwards, run SUMo to let it detect the Avira version number.
Looks like an exact copy of this bug : https://www.kcsoftwares.com/bugs/view.php?id=4666
which was supposed to be fixed in 5.5.1

Which version of SUMo are you using ?

vailr
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 6:22 pm

Re: Avira mish-mash of errors

Post by vailr »

SUMo just updated to version: 5.5.3.384, as of Feb. 4, 2018.
A peculiar new software entry now shows up since the previous SUMo version 5.5.3.383: "Antivirus Host Framework Service", referring
to the file avguard.exe.
Which should not be showing up at all, since that is not a separate installable software, apart from from the 2 Avira AV softwares:
Avira
Avira Product Family (<-- still erroneously refers to startui.exe, instead of avshadow.exe for the correct product version number)

Kyle_Katarn
Site Admin
Posts: 1419
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:13 pm

Re: Avira mish-mash of errors

Post by Kyle_Katarn »

vailr wrote:
Sun Feb 04, 2018 6:29 pm
SUMo just updated to version: 5.5.3.384, as of Feb. 4, 2018.
A peculiar new software entry now shows up since the previous SUMo version 5.5.3.383: "Antivirus Host Framework Service", referring
to the file avguard.exe.
Which should not be showing up at all, since that is not a separate installable software, apart from from the 2 Avira AV softwares:
Avira
Avira Product Family (<-- still erroneously refers to startui.exe, instead of avshadow.exe for the correct product version number)
Thanks, much clearer !
New bug report opened : https://www.kcsoftwares.com/bugs/view.php?id=4724

vailr
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 6:22 pm

Re: Avira mish-mash of errors

Post by vailr »

For the Avira AV Free product version to be correctly ascertained, the SUMo software author really needs to actually install Avira on a test Windows system. Otherwise, what's obviously in need of correction is going to continue to be mystifyingly obscure.
Another good 3rd-party method of checking all installed software's version numbers and/or uninstalling Avira from the test Windows system is:
Iobit Uninstaller
http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details ... aller.html
Iobit Uninstaller Portable
http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details ... table.html

Kyle_Katarn
Site Admin
Posts: 1419
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:13 pm

Re: Avira mish-mash of errors

Post by Kyle_Katarn »

OK, i'll investigate.

vailr
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 6:22 pm

Re: Avira mish-mash of errors

Post by vailr »

Clarification: Iobit Uninstaller does a first-rate accurate job of identifying the installed software version numbers only.
It does not, however, provide any information about the existence of possible software updates, which is what SUMo is designed to do.
Iobit Uninstaller does correctly identify the installed version number for both of the Avira softwares, where SUMo mostly tends to have errors, in connection with the "Avira Product Family" (labeled "Avira Antivirus" by the Iobit software), which is the large 240 Mb AV scanning software. The smaller 5 Mb "stub installer" labeled "Avira" (by both SUMo & by the Iobit software), is already version identified correctly by SUMo.

Kyle_Katarn
Site Admin
Posts: 1419
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:13 pm

Re: Avira mish-mash of errors

Post by Kyle_Katarn »

ok, thanks for clarification !

vailr
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 6:22 pm

Re: Avira mish-mash of errors

Post by vailr »

Update: new versions released on Feb. 14, for both of the Avira AV related softwares:
Avira 1.2.106.18629
Avira Antivirus 15.0.34.23 (labeled by SUMo as: "Avira Product Family")

Kyle_Katarn
Site Admin
Posts: 1419
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 8:13 pm

Re: Avira mish-mash of errors

Post by Kyle_Katarn »

vailr wrote:
Fri Feb 16, 2018 5:04 am
Update: new versions released on Feb. 14, for both of the Avira AV related softwares:
Avira 1.2.106.18629
Avira Antivirus 15.0.34.23 (labeled by SUMo as: "Avira Product Family")
What does SUMo says on this ?

Post Reply